HISTORY AND HERITAGE

A FIGURE OF THE TEXTILE HERITAGE

L’ENSAIT has a rich and lively history behind it. Since its creation in 1889, the School has become a leading figure in the textile heritage, accompanying its development year after year. L’ENSAIT is above all a school which has always been concerned to adapt its training to market demand. Textiles are more alive than ever, constantly changing, and appearing in innovative fields of activity.

The ENSAIT is a School open to the World, in constant evolution, it trains dynamic and versatile engineers, up to date with the most innovative techniques, familiar with cutting-edge sectors, capable of giving the best advice to the players in the textile industry. This adaptation to the evolution of the textile industry can be found through the different poles of the school. 

ensait-façade
1876

In 1876, the City Council of Roubaix adopted the creation of an establishment adapted to the needs of a large industrial city. At the same time, the government wanted to meet the needs of the textile industry.

1881/1882

ENAI (Ecole Nationale d'Arts Industriels), a national institution, was officially created by the law of 5 July 1881. A convention is signed between the State and the city of Roubaix in 1882.

1921

ENAI changed its name to ENSAIT - Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Industries Textiles in 1921.

1992

Creation of the textile research laboratory:  GEMTEX.

2000

Creation of apprenticeship training.

ferdinand dutert, architect of the ensait and Grand Prix de Rome for Architecture

Charles Louis Ferdinand Dutert, was born in Douai in 1845. He died in Paris in 1906. He is the architect of the ENSAIT. He is a very considered man at the end of the 19th century.
After a brilliant schooling at the Beaux-Arts in the 1860s, he was awarded the Grand Prix de Rome for Architecture. He then spent 5 years in Italy where he worked on the restoration of the Imperial Palace of Rome on Mount Palatine. He was appointed Government Architect in 1882 after major works: renovation of the Paris City Hall, the Palais des Machines for the 1889 Universal Exhibition and the Paris Museum of Natural History. 
His major work remains the construction of the ENAI (the former name of the ENSAIT) from 1886 to 1889.

The support of the architect Dutert was decisive in the choice of Roubaix for the creation of a textile school in the North.

THE LIBRARY OF ENSAIT

The twin construction of a public library and an instruction centre is unusual for the time. Its geographical location within the school itself is privileged because it is central and therefore directly accessible to the public. It is nevertheless far away from the noisy workshops. 
After the Second World War, the library of Roubaix was established on rue du château. The ENSAIT library ceased to function as such in 1975, when it was affected by a fire.
It is now entirely dedicated to the support of ENSAIT students.

ensait-bibliotheque

HISTOIRE ET PATRIMOINE

une figure du patrimoine textile

L’ENSAIT a derrière elle une histoire riche et vivante, depuis sa création en 1889, l’Ecole est devenue une figure de proue du patrimoine textile, accompagnant son développement d’année en année. L’ENSAIT est avant tout une Ecole qui a toujours eu pour souci d’adapter sa formation à la demande du marché. Le textile est plus que jamais vivant, en constante mutation, il apparaît dans des domaines d’activités novateurs.

L’ENSAIT est une Ecole ouverte sur le Monde, en évolution constante, elle forme des ingénieurs dynamiques et polyvalents, au fait des techniques les plus innovantes, connaissant les secteurs de pointe, capables de conseiller au mieux les acteurs de l’industrie textile. Cette adaptation aux évolutions de l’industrie textile se retrouve au travers des différents pôles de l’école. 

ensait-façade
1876

En 1876, le Conseil Municipal de la ville de Roubaix adopte la création d'un établissement adapté aux besoins d'une grande ville industrielle. Parallèlement, le gouvernement souhaite répondre aux besoins de l'industrie textile.

1881/1882

L'ENAI (Ecole Nationale d'Arts Industriels), institution nationale, est officiellement créée par la loi du 5 juillet 1881. Une convention est signée entre l'Etat et la ville de Roubaix en 1882.

1921

L'ENAI prend le nom d'ENSAIT - Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Industries Textiles en 1921.

1992

Création du laboratoire de recherche textile : le GEMTEX

2000

Création de la formation par apprentissage

ferdinand dutert, architecte de l'ensait et grand prix de rome d'architecture

Charles Louis Ferdinand Dutert, est né à Douai en 1845. Il décède à Paris en 1906. Il est l’architecte de l’ENSAIT. C’est un homme très considéré à la fin du 19ème.
Après une scolarité brillante aux Beaux-Arts dans les années 1860, il reçoit le Grand Prix de Rome d’Architecture. Il passe ensuite 5 années en Italie où il travaille à la restauration du Palais impérial de Rome sur le Mont Palatin. Il est nommé Architecte du Gouvernement en 1882 après d’importants travaux réalisés : rénovation de l’Hôtel de Ville de Paris, Palais des Machines pour l’exposition universelle de 1889 ou encore le Museum d’Histoire Naturelle de Paris. 
Son oeuvre majeure reste la construction de L’ENAI (ancien nom de l’ENSAIT) réalisée de 1886 à 1889.

L’appui de l’architecte Dutert a été décisif dans le choix de Roubaix pour la création d’une école textile dans le Nord.

la bibliothèque de l'ensait

La construction jumelée d’une bibliothèque municipale et d’un centre d’instruction est inhabituelle pour l’époque. Sa situation géographique au sein même de l’école est privilégiée car centrale et donc directement accessible au public. Elle est néanmoins éloignée des ateliers bruyants. 
Après la seconde guerre mondiale, la bibliothèque de Roubaix s’établit rue du château. La bibliothèque de l’ENSAIT cesse de fonctionner en tant que telle en 1975, date à laquelle elle est affectée par un incendie.
Elle est désormais intégralement dédiée à l’accompagnement des élèves de l’ENSAIT.

ensait-bibliotheque